Mud City Loop

 PURE VERMONT!

This time of year makes me remember when I was 14 or 15 and my grandparents would say “oh lets go drive around and look at the leaves”  My response was always the same “DUMB.”  I also during these years I would not walk on the same side of the street as them.  I was a mean little teenager.   Thank god my grandparents were amazing people and thought nothing of this.   Nowadays I would walk anywhere with them!

But I must be getting old because I love to see the brilliant leaves,  bright blue skies and feel the chilly mornings and warm afternoons!  Best time to get out and RIDE…..

This is my favorite fall ride and do it almost every year, unless we have one of those depressing 😦 rainy falls….

Viewing the leaves by car which has its place is really secondary to getting out for a bike or a hike.  You can smell the air and feel the sun and really see the leaves.

map of mud city

Mud City Loop

The ride is 21.9 miles long with a mix of pavement and dirt roads.  You will begin in the little village of Stowe, Vt.   Print the map or take a cue sheet it’s a little tricky getting to Mud City.  Park anywhere downtown and proceed north on 100 towards Morristown.   A little ways out of town you will see Stagecoach rd. take a left.  This is a paved road with some steep hills  (lung burners!) and nice big down hills to give you a rest.  Make your way to the 4 way stop, take a break you will need one.  Green Top Market is on your right and is a great place for sandwiches, soups and baked goods.  From here take a left at the stop sign and continue on to Mud City Loop rd.  it’s a dirt road with little traffic and is very peaceful.  The scenery is about as Vermont as you can get, idyllic dairy farms,  large maple trees lining the road,  green grass,  mountain views and a crisp breeze.  If you ride this in summer there are amazing swimming holes all along the road just pick a cool spot and call it your own.  Hope you enjoy the ride as much as I do let me know what you think!

Beautiful ride of dirt and pavement through the hills of Vermont
2 responses to “Mud City Loop

  1. this looks like a great ride—but…how about something more “gentle” for those of us less confident riders….

Leave a Reply

